pen_grunt: (Default)
[personal profile] pen_grunt
I hate car shopping. Even though D is willing to do a bulk of it for me. The problem right now is that I *need* to get a car. I don't have the luxury of just idly browsing indefinitely, even if my in-laws ARE very generous about loaning out the shop car.

The problem is also that we have a budget. I want to spend what I got back from my totaled car--which is several thousand more than we paid for it--and maybe a *bit* more...but I don't want a car payment right now. Not with paying the nanny more than my mortgage each month. And I like just owning the car outright. Sure, we could technically afford a car payment...but I really, really, really don't want one.

And I also want something that I really *like*--not that I'm just making-do with.

D found a good Cadillac SRX for a reasonable price, but it's just not quite right. It's a color that I don't love (white) and it doesn't have third-row seating and a few other features are off. Also, it rides higher than I'd like, and gets pretty low MPG--low-teens/city. That's an area I don't want to go backward in.

It would be fine. But I don't love it. It would do. But...

So I'm sure I'm frustrating D with what look like (and probably are) minor or petty complaints.

We looked at another SRX (I'm not sure where he got stuck on the SRX in his search, but he did), and it looked clean but when we got there it had a bubbled rust spot on the body. The poor sales guy. I wouldn't even spend the time to drive it (we had Nadia with, so it's an effort to test-drive stuff) because the rust is a hard no. Everything gets rust in MN, but it doesn't mean that I want to start out my "new" car life with rust.

With time, there are lots of options available. Feeling pressed for time makes this more stressful than it needs to be. It's the old matrix of work. There are three elements: Cheap, fast, and good. You can only ever have two at a time.

So we could get a great car, quickly...but not cheaply.
We can get a cheap car quickly...but it won't be as good.
Or we could get a good car, cheaply...but it won't be quick. That's where we're at right now.

Date: 2015-11-23 06:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] newlifeinstpaul.livejournal.com
I have no idea what to tell you. Neither car in my garage is cheap OR quick.

Date: 2015-11-23 07:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
It's okay. MOSTLY I'm just whining. WHIIIIIIINE.

Date: 2015-11-23 07:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] newlifeinstpaul.livejournal.com
There's one for every budget, ya know.

Date: 2015-11-23 08:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
Yoooooou! *shakes fist*

Date: 2015-11-24 01:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gwangi.livejournal.com
They do make cars in non-luxury brands, you know.

Date: 2015-11-24 04:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
I hear you saying that, I just don't think it's true.

My two picks are Subaru (either Forester or Outback, depending on model year) or a Volvo wagon. Though I could probably get a VW wagon fairly cheaply right now. . .

Profile

pen_grunt: (Default)
pen_grunt

March 2022

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios