Lost cause
Oct. 1st, 2015 08:47 pmListening to D trying to explain why "all lives matter" is an awful response to "black lives matter" to his mother (I think, though it could be his dad...but probably not).
They're not bad people, you guys. They actually try. It's just that they're very...isolated and naive and even ignorant about some things. Lack of exposure is the culprit. His sister in law thought she was in the middle of a shootout while on the way to our place because two people were loudly talking and "it's not because they're black, but..."
Oh. He's moved on to school shootings and gun control. Goodie.
Mostly his mom agrees, she just needs things pointed out to her sometimes and she does shift her perspective on frequent occasion.
They're not bad people, you guys. They actually try. It's just that they're very...isolated and naive and even ignorant about some things. Lack of exposure is the culprit. His sister in law thought she was in the middle of a shootout while on the way to our place because two people were loudly talking and "it's not because they're black, but..."
Oh. He's moved on to school shootings and gun control. Goodie.
Mostly his mom agrees, she just needs things pointed out to her sometimes and she does shift her perspective on frequent occasion.
no subject
Date: 2015-10-02 04:45 am (UTC)And - for what it's worth (unless I'm misreading it as a positive of introspection rather than the negative of just agreeing for the sake of agreeing) - anyone who can hold a discussion and swallow potential pride enough to shift their perspective in light of new ideas and information . . . that's not all bad . . . ?
no subject
Date: 2015-10-02 08:27 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2015-10-03 04:38 am (UTC)Edit (after seeing below comments): Or wine. Wine works, too!
no subject
Date: 2015-10-02 10:20 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2015-10-02 08:29 pm (UTC)I poured him a glass of wine as he was chatting. I would have done beer, but I also wanted wine.