pen_grunt: (Default)
[personal profile] pen_grunt
For the first time in...maybe ever...I've woken up in a hotel room without having to set an alarm. Just waking up naturally in a strange place is a very unique experience.

Disney is freakin' sweet. We went to Epcot yesterday (on a Saturday!) and had to wait in line for NOTHING. There were only a small handful of children above the age of four.

Epcot has always been my favorite park, because I like the circle of countries in the World Showcase. It makes me feel worldly and it's highly educational (Canada has moose, eh? Who'd a thunk it Disney?). However, I'm thinking it's time for Epcot to update their country display. I don't think I'd take out any, but I would expand and add. The current countries in the circle are (and my favorites are starred):

*Canada--This has always held a place in my heart ever since I bought an emergency sweatshirt here before getting really sick.
*United Kingdom--Toys and tea. Everyone singing in the pub. Boys with British accents. It rocks.
France--Mostly wine, not much entertainment. Oh, except the 18 minute move that says "Ahh, my beloved Frahnz" and basically nothing else.
Morocco--Doesn't have much in terms of showing you the culture.
*Japan--Tin Toy Story! Japan is about the classiest country display there.
America--Unlike all the other country displays, which feature mostly landscape and culture, America focuses in on Presidents and government and not the (what I think is) interesting topography and culture of the start of the nation.
Italy--Again, not much there save for wine. Oh, and some RenFest rejects doing a really bad rendition of Romeo and Edna.
*Germany--Toys sell it again. Germany doesn't have much but toys and beer, but it's got some cool-freaking-toys.
*China--The newly refurbished 9-screen surround movie sells this one for me.
*Norway--Whilst I was upset that pretty much half the things in the Norway shop were actually Swedish, they still had a semi-awesome Viking boat ride. Oh, and not THAT kind of Viking Boat Ride, football fans.
Mexico--Eh, they try...but most of their displays end up being extremely simple and insulting in some instances.

I would like to see them add:
--Another Nordic/Scandinavian country: Sweden, Denmark, The Netherlands, or Finland
--A "down under" country: New Zealand or Australia
--A soviet country: Russia, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia, etc.
--A middle eastern country (so Morocco doesn't have to pull double duty as the African country and the "Middle Eastern" country)
--An actual African country: Tanzania or Somalia
--A South American country: Argentina or Brazil
--Greece

I think we're doing the Magic Kingdom today. Again, it will be blissfully crowd-and-child free. I'll get to see Philharmagic 6 times in a row, if I so desire.

Date: 2006-09-10 05:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] llythefaerye.livejournal.com
You. Suck. Great. Big. Hairy. Monkey. Balls. (for being in freakin' DisneyWorld while I'm not).

When I was at Epcot, the Italy section had some freakin' cool masks . . .

Date: 2006-09-11 03:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
True, I forgot about the masks. The thing I remember most clearly about them, however, were the BIG signs telling me to, "Please refrain from touching masks," which kind of spoiled the experience for me.

Trust me though, the benefits of this situation (going to Disney) come with much responsibility (having to work/fly/travel every other freaking day I'm here for 15+ hours).

Date: 2006-09-11 03:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] llythefaerye.livejournal.com
Oh. I know. But you're in Disney World *sticks out tongue* And it's 50 degrees & rainy here.

Date: 2006-09-11 03:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
Eh, it's also very rainy here. *shrugs*

I can't help it. I love Disney world. (I know, the cynic in me just died a little.)

Date: 2006-09-11 03:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] llythefaerye.livejournal.com
*points and laughs* HA! Disney killed your childhood!

Date: 2006-09-11 01:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] damm-im-good.livejournal.com
Yeah...so I have never been to anywhere bigger than the Disney Store at the Mall of America, so I can only imagine. For awhile, I was feeling bad for you, having to go all over the country for a week. Now, I am just mad that I didn't get to go...lol. Oh well. I will just steal some of your Disney soap when you get back. Take that!

Date: 2006-09-11 03:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
The simple fact of the matter is that it would have made NO sense whatsoever to fly back from Miami to Minneapolis on Friday night/Saturday morning, then fly to Orlando from Minneapolis again on Sunday evening. I would have been really, really crabby about being in Minneapolis/St. Paul for less than a day before having to fly out to Florida AGAIN.

Hey, be happy at least I get to have a little bit of fun.

If it makes you feel better, I have to finish a script tonight...and I had to pay $14 to get an internet cable.

Date: 2006-09-11 05:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liquid-siftings.livejournal.com
I have fond memories of China and Canada (yep, love the big surround-show), but your report tells me I don't need to revisit Epcot anytime soon...

Date: 2006-09-11 10:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pen-grunt.livejournal.com
Don't get me wrong, I still love Epcot (above all the other parks), it's just in need of a little spit-n-polish. This could have had something to do with the fact that we're at the very beginning of the off-season as well.

Profile

pen_grunt: (Default)
pen_grunt

March 2022

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios